Fun with Beyonwiz

23 01 2008

A while ago, I bought myself a Beyonwiz DP-S1. I bought it as it had network connectivity so I thought it would be possible to have all sorts of fun with it. But to my disappointment, it wasn’t possible to connect to it, other than via http (which, as far as I know, can only be used to download recordings).

But the other day I found that someone created a patch to enable telnet access to it. But to apply the patch, you were required to have windows and an older firmware. Luckily, some tools were released as well so I could use my beloved Linux box to enable telnet access myself.

Once I had access to the box I started to explore it. To be honest, it doesn’t contain a lot of fun toys that are usable. But there was one utility… It’s called micomparam. It seems to control a lot of functionality in the hardware, amongst one is the display at the front. While I was playing around with it I came up with this really geek idea. Why not use the display on the PVR to let me know when I have new emails in evolution. So I setup a quick bash script that that listens on DBus when new messages arrive. I then use expect to access the PVR via telnet and set the display to show me when I have new emails.

I came up with other silly ideas as well, such as having the display show me when someone talks to me on IRC etc. But I have not done any setup for it yet (probably wont do it either). I think what I need to do next is to figure out if it is at all possible to manipulate the box further. It’s using Linux and BusyBox so it might be possible to write/compile software for it. I don’t know how one would go about trying something like that but could be worth a try. Even if it fails, it’s always fun playing. Beyonwiz have not released it’s stuff as required by GPL yet but according to this post, they are working on it. Meanwhile, I have something to waste my time on.

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 02 2008
Jani

Why don’t you add your Beyonwiz software / scripts into http://www.beyonwizsoftware.net/ ?

I am sure there would be many interested users for your scripts.

See this help page
http://www.beyonwizsoftware.net/guides-and-help/how-to-add-new-software-here/0/
to see how to add software into Beyonwiz Software site.

I am also sure, Beyonwiz developers would like to read what you have found from BW. I have made a wiki
http://wiki.beyonwizsoftware.net/
for developers. Hopefully it will also get much developer related information eventually.

Regards,
Jani, Beyonwiz Software admin

24 01 2013
cleaningsprite

Hey there, You have done an incredible job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

Leave a Reply

